Top Stories

Delhi municipal election results, counting, timings: All you need to know | India News

NEW DELHI: Results for the Delhi municipal elections are set to be announced on Wednesday even as exit polls showed that the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) will sweep the 250-ward corporation that has been under BJP rule for around 15 years.
While BJP is likely to trail AAP, the surveys have predicted a massive fall for Congress with the party’s tally likely to remain in a single digit.
Security arrangement and timing
Officials said 42 centres have been set up across the city for the counting exercise, which will begin at 8am amid tight security. The centres are located in areas such as Shastri Park, Yamuna Vihar, Mayur Vihar, Nand Nagari, Dwarka, Okhla, Mangolpuri, Pitampura, Alipur and Model Town.

Twenty companies of paramilitary personnel and over 10,000 officers of Delhi Police have been deployed at the 42 centres.
Besides the counting centres, heavy police presence will also be ensured outside the offices of political parties. Adequate security personnel will also be deployed to prevent clashes between activists of different parties.

Deputy Commissioner of Police (Public Relations) Suman Nalwa said adequate security arrangements had been made for the day of counting. “We are fully prepared for the counting day and keeping a strict vigil on the strongrooms,” Nalwa said.
Since the number of voters in each ward is not very high, officials said the results on most seats are likely to be announced by the afternoon.
Three-way contest
Delhi recorded a low voter turnout of 50.48% in the keenly-watched polls held on December 4, results of which may have ramifications beyond the national capital.

The election was largely touted as a three-way contest among a spirited AAP, a confident BJP and a hopeful Congress.
There are 250 wards in the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) and 1,349 candidates are in the fray in this election.

There were 272 wards in Delhi and three corporations (North Delhi Municipal Corporation, South Delhi Municipal Corporation and East Delhi Municipal Corporation) from 2012-2022, before being reunified into the single MCD that formally come into existence on May 22 this year.
The erstwhile MCD, established in 1958, was trifurcated in 2012 during Sheila Dikshit’s tenure as the chief minister.
First civic poll after riots
In the 2017 civic election, the BJP had won 181 of the 270 wards. Polling could not be held on two seats due to the death of candidates. The AAP had won 48 wards and the Congress 27. The voting percentage that year was around 53%.

This was the first civic election after the February 2020 riots and the fresh delimitation exercise. The election was held days after the first phase of the Gujarat assembly elections, and a day ahead of its second phase.
Counting of votes for Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat will take place on December 8.
(With inputs from agencies)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *