Ads by Eonads
India vs Australia 3rd T20I Highlights: Suryakumar Yadav and Virat Kohli power India to a six-wicket win in series decider | Cricket News

India vs Australia 3rd T20I Highlights: Suryakumar Yadav and Virat Kohli power India to a six-wicket win in series decider | Cricket News

HYDERABAD: It all boiled down to the last three overs. The Australians, who were 140 for six at the end of the 17th overs, had got 46 in the final three. The Indians, who had set the chase up very nicely needing just 32 for a series win, overcame some spirited fightback to post a thumping six-wicket win in the third and final T20I match at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on Sunday.
Virat Kohli struck some welcome form with a 48-ball 63 (3×4, 4×6) and though he fell with just five needed off five balls, the Delhi batter had ensured a victory. Hardik Pandya remained unbeaten on 25 as the Indians replied with 187 for four with a ball to spare. In the end, the difference between the teams was the steady show of the Indian batters in the middle overs.
Scorecard | As it happened
But the win was really set up by a Mumbaikar for whom the sky is no limit. Suryakumar Yadav stole the thunder from the Australians. Coming into bat with India, chasing a tricky 188, delicately placed at 30 for two, Suryakumar along with Virat Kohli strung a match-winning 104-run partnership off 62 balls for the third wicket.
The Indians didn’t get the start which they wanted as KL Rahul (1) and skipper Rohit Sharma (17) fell with just 30 on the board. But Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav took up the challenge as they slowly clawed their way back into the innings. Kohli did the bulk of the scoring initially before Suryakumar joined the party.

The Australians, who till that time looked on top, began to wilt under the pressure. After 10 overs, the Indians were 91 for two – five runs more than the Australians at that stage of their innings.
Once Suryakumar warmed up, Kohli played the second fiddle allowing his junior to take on the Australian attack. The Indians opened up after the seventh over as runs came in a steady flow. Suryakumar raced to his half-century off 29 balls with four fours and three sixes. When he departed in the 14th over, he had got himself 69 off 36 balls with five fours and an equal number over the fence. Kohli went on to complete his half-century off 37 balls with three fours and three sixes.
Ads by Eonads
(ANI Photo)
Earlier, the Australians were off to a blazing start with Cameron Green hitting a swashbuckling 21-ball 52 with seven fours and three sixes as the visitors got 66 in the powerplay. After his departure, the Australians lost their way as the Indians clawed back. From a strong 62 for two, the visitors collapsed to 84 for four in the 10th over. At the half-way mark, they were 86 – adding just 24 in the last six overs.
Glenn Maxwell (6) didn’t last long as he was run out by Axar Patel when trying to steal a second. Steve Smith (8) too failed to contribute much as he was stumped by Dinesh Karthik off Yuzvendra Chahal.
(ANI Photo)
Josh Inglis (24) and Tim David repaired the damage with a 31-run stand for the fifth wicket before Patel struck twice in his last over to put the Indians on top again. It was left to David and Daniel Sams to take the visitors to a respectable total. David raced to a 27-ball 54 with two fours and four sixes, while Sams remained unbeaten on 28 off 20 balls.
India’s death-overs woes continued as Bhuvneshwar Kumar conceded 21 in the 18th over, Jasprit Bumrah 18. If not for Harshal Patel’s stingy last over in which he gave only seven runs, the Australians would have got more on the board.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »